my eyes and brain are already reserved for other tasks.

At the beginning of 2007, my new years resolution was to keep a list of all the books that I read. My goal was 100 (and looking back on it, I don’t know how doable it EVER was. There are 52 weeks in a year, so to read 100 books would require you to read, MINIMUM, 2 books almost every week. That’s a heavy task for someone who works full time AND now doesnt have time to read on the bus.)

Anyways, I read 49. Nothing to sneeze at, I guess. But if it were up to me, I would read more than I did anything else. Ah,, dreams…

But I digress. I decided to keep doing this for 2008. And this year’s book list makes me sad:

Books Read in 2008
1. “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” by Stephen Chbosky
2. “Dolores Claiborne” by Stephen King
3. “Woman” by Richard Matheson
4. “Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass” written by Himself
5. “Amusing Ourselves to Death; Public Discourse in the Age of Show Business” by Alexander Postman
6. “I Am Legend” by Richard Matheson
7. “Unaccustomed Earth” by Jhumpa Lahiri
8. “Gay Marriage: Why It’s Good for Gays, Good for Straights, and Good for America” by Jonathan Rauch

The year is almost half over! And yes, I knew that when I started school, I would have less time for recreational reading… but almost half of these were books I HAD to read for school.

Summer session is coming, and since it’s so condensed, I decided to take a bullshit whatever class online. The alternative option was going to class 5 nights a week. I wouldn’t be able to keep up with the workload. So I’m gonna give this a shot.

Question: have any of you taken an online course? And if so, what was the outcome?

Currently Reading: “Gay Marriage: Why It’s Good for Gays, Good for Straights, and Good for America” by Jonathan Rauch

Currently Listening To: Katy Perry

~ by Alli on Saturday, May 10, 2008.

3 Responses to “my eyes and brain are already reserved for other tasks.”

  1. Did I tell you that I recently discovered the magic of books on CD? OMG. I am so in love. Considering we are both no longer transportationally-challenged, you should totally get some from the library. I’ve been trying to beef up my children’s lit knowledge and end up going through about 1 a week, just from driving to and from work, errands, and trips to the bf’s. It’s so awesome b/c you’re listening to an ENTIRE book while you would be driving around anyway! One word of caution though, those things are NOT cheap to replace, so be careful with any you do check out – meaning, don’t make a habit of leaving cassettes to melt in the car. 🙂

  2. p.s. what did you think of “…Wallflower”? I really can’t see what makes it so effing life-changing for so many teens. Am I the only one who wanted to bitch-slap Charlie every time he started crying?

  3. I never found it “life changing” – I suppose some people saw it as the modern day “Catcher in the Rye”, which I HATED. But I did find it moving and a beautiful story. Don’t know why. But I’ve loved it for years. I read it in high school.

Leave a Reply

 
