i think i can, i think i can

So… no summer class for me after all.  Damn the stupid online classes and their “schedule”.  Fuck the schedule.  I guess I’m an anarchist now.  Great. 

It’s graduation season again.  You know, it was this time last year that put the higher-education bug in my brain.  I saw my friends accomplishing all these things and moving forward in their lives.  It wasn’t that I felt left behind, nor was it a case of follow the leader.  On the contrary, I just saw all this accomplishment around me, all completed by people I loved and whom I was so proud of.  And I thought to myself, “It’s time.”

It got off to a slow start.  Originally planning to start in Fall semester, that didn’t quite happen.  I was too busy focusing on my drivers license.  And then when I signed up for 2 classes in Spring semester, I had to drop one, because I couldn’t handle the course load and a full time job.  Couldn’t keep up with the homework (though it might have been the classes I chose as well.  English 101 and Elementary French.)

After I dropped French, I felt like a loser.  But I focused on English, and the result was an A in the class.

It’s so minor, really.  An A in a class that is a strong subject for me, when I’m not taking any others.  But it was my first foray into college.  And I got an A.

So even though I’m extremely bummed about not staying on track with a class immediately after (summer will be school free.), my first college grade makes me think, for the first time, TRULY.. that I may be able to pull this off.

 

pretty rad.

 

Currently reading : Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky

Currently listening to : Juliette and the Licks “Four on the Floor”

~ by Alli on Wednesday, June 11, 2008.

One Response to “i think i can, i think i can”

  1. I know you can do this. You’re off to a great start. I’m glad you decided to focus on one of the two initially instead of stressing yourself out and getting in over your head. And yes, I also think the subject areas were part of that as well. Foreign languages are difficult for anybody over the age of 5. And you had a full time job and another heavy class on top of it. Know that I’m so proud of you for not only passing, but EXCELLING. I have no doubt that you’ll accomplish your goal.

Leave a Reply

 
