Ingrid rocks my socks

There is nothing quite like seeing an artist you really like live in concert to make you fall in love with them all over again.

On Tuesday, Lainey and I went to the El Rey in Los Angeles to see Ingrid Michaelson in concert.

We got there really fucking early. (there is pending video of she and I standing outside the theatre, and NO ONE else there.)  But we got to spend some time together, I bought some hair dye, and we saved $15, because we were able to get street parking.  Woo!!

We wandered around a bit.  Did you know that Jeff Foxworthy has his own line of BEEF JERKY?!

the fuck?
It’s, like, he’s a parody of himself.

Anyways, we waited…
First

and waited.
Lainey is so hood.
I really love this picture.

and waited (this is when we get REALLY bored.)


Finally, concert time!!!

Greg Laswell went on first. Very soulful, but very funny and self deprecating. He looks a lot like Lainey’s Geo.

Greg Laswell 5

Not as much in person, but on stage there was a striking resemblance.

Ingrid really is an amazing live performer. Pitch perfect and beautiful. Charismatic and enjoyable to watch. Elaine and I both took some great pictures of her, that you can see on my flickr page and hers. But here are a couple.

Ingrid Michaelson on the piano

Ingrid Michaelson 4

Ingrid Michaelson 2

Afterwards, we stuck around to meet her, and we were able to.

After the Show

I’m sad that I seem cursed to not take a good picture with any artists I admire (there is an equally awful one of me and Sara Bareilles.) Elaine also about lost her mind when she saw Katherine McPhee there as well.

Either way, it was a great night, and I had a blast. Unfortunately, because we were so close to the stage (practically ON it.), the sound quality of the videos I took is extremely poor. But here’s a little taste from someone else who was at the concert.

Amazing.

~ by Alli on Thursday, June 26, 2008.

One Response to “Ingrid rocks my socks”

  1. Awesomeness!!!

Leave a Reply

 
