retail/batman/chipotle therapy

For the longest time, I never got why people went shopping in order to feel better. Even after I started ENJOYING clothes shopping (which really didn’t happen until I was 18 and I had my own money.), I never saw how retail therapy could ever work well.

Now as an adult, I feel like I turn to it more than I should. Eh, fuck it, shopping is fun!    : )    And honestly, when you are spending money you don’t have, or shouldn’t be spending, it’s almost a little bit MORE fun. You know, something about “I shouldn’t be spending this money, but I need to do something nice for me, so screw it”. There is something so indulgent about it. And the fact that when you are feeling really crappy, you get to go and buy yourself things that make you feel cute and pretty.

Oh, and I bought a tea infuser. But I drink A LOT of green tea (it’s like my coffee.), so I consider it money well spent. And I also spent 10 bucks at a Dollar Book store, but I consider it a really good deal, since they were books I wanted ANYWAYS, and…. Dollar Books! C’mon! You can hardly get ONE book for $10. (I did find it funny that this store had, like, 200 copies of Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood. I guess that was one that people didn’t feel that they needed to own after reading.) Next thing I spend money on? Another bookshelf. I’m running out of space in a MAJOR way. Damn me and my literature addiction.

Hilarious conversation I heard between a teenage girl and boy in the fitting room at Buffalo Exchange:

Girl: I don’t know, I think I’m gonna go with THIS skirt, because it’s more vintage-ey.

Boy: yeah… So what IS vintage exactly?

Girl: It’s like… old. But not like smelly old, like cool old.

Boy: Ohhhhhh…..

(I told that story to 3 people this weekend. One fell down they were laughing so hard, one choked on her beer, and one couldn’t breathe.)

In other news, Batman is awesome, and amazing, and I want to see it in IMAX as soon as I can. “Motherfuckin’ Batpod”. That line was INSANE though. It took me 20 minutes just to get a Burrito Bowl from the Chipotle right next to the theater. (It was so worth it though.

Oh, and today, July 21st, is National Junk Food Day. I am abstaining from celebration, as my fat ass has been “celebrating” for the last month. But by all means, people, eat a Twinkie for me.

~ by Alli on Monday, July 21, 2008.

One Response to “retail/batman/chipotle therapy”

  1. I haven’t eaten a twinkie in a long ass time. man. makes me want one real bad.

Leave a Reply

 
