something positive

So, I wake up on Saturday morning to a voicemail from my mother saying “Hi Alli, it’s mom. So, I don’t know how to tell you this (my heart starts racing), but I got a dog! She is all black, and very sweet, and we don’t know what to name her. call me back!”. Couldn’t be more random. She didn’t even tell me she was thinking about getting a dog. Our family dog, Mandy, aka the sweetest dog in the world, passed away about 4 years ago. She was my dog, but stayed with my mother when I moved out. One of my biggest regrets was that I never got to say goodbye to her.

Anyways, I knew that it would be a long time before my mom and her boyfriend were ready to get another dog. And she hadn’t mentioned it to me at all. Anyways, I wasn’t doing anything that day, so I went out to Monrovia to see her.

My mom named her Zoe – I suggested Rabbit or Bunny (my mom and I both love rabbits), Penny (like Penny Lane by the Beatles), or Dusty. But Mom is set on Zoe. It seems to fit her.

Zoe the wonder dog

She looks like a mini-Mandy, except she is all black, including her eyes, so she sometimes doesn’t show up clearly on photos, and looks like a big mass of fluffy black fur. Sometimes she looks like a seal. She was adapting so well just the first day there. She was jumping and running (when she runs, she prances, like a show pony.) and giving kisses. And other times, she would be the most mellow dog in the planet. She is kind of amazing. She already knows to follow people when they are running, she responds to whistles, “sit” (some of the time.), and she is definitely part herding dog (Mandy was a Border Collie/ Australian Shepard mix, and Zoe is Spaniel and Border Collie.)

cutie

She looks like a seal pup.

~ by Alli on Wednesday, August 6, 2008.

2 Responses to “something positive”

  1. She’s perfect!And not a moment too soon. I’m glad you have her to keep you company. Scratch her belly for me

  2. so cute. i can’t wait to see her!

Leave a Reply

 
