Adventures in Unemployment, Day Five

Man, moving is exhausting.  I haven’t even started PACKING yet, just throwing stuff away, and boxing stuff up to give to Goodwill.  I’ve had boxes and boxes of trinkets, and decorative hair clips and scrunchies and jewelry, and dolls.  Things I have had no use for, and were already in storage containers, which made it that much easier to lift them up and move them from place to place to place.  Anyways, I’ve been going through them, grabbing the couple of personal things I want to keep (programs of shows I was in, letters, etc.), and either throwing the rest away, or Goodwill-ing it.  Fresh start for Allison.

What is it about cleaning that makes your home look even messier than it did to begin with?  Drawers are open, things scattered on the floor.  If you walked in right now not knowing the circumstances, you would think I’d been robbed.  Once I can actually start PACKING (Sean is bringing me boxes tomorrow, god bless him), I think I’ll feel a little better.  Then I can start actually cleaning, so I can get the majority of my security deposit back.  I would love to just call it a day, but Jordan is coming over tomorrow to repaint the doors, and I need to get this stuff out of his way.  I’m just so tired all the time.  I haven’t gotten a solid 8 hours since I lost my job.  I need to ride the Tylenol PM train tonight if I actually want to be productive tomorrow.

I do have to say, I’m glad I am leaving this neighborhood.  I always liked my apartment, I just hated the building, and the neighborhood.  And lately, I’ve been getting more and more anxious.  It’s par for the course when living alone, especially when you are young and female.  There are periods of months when I don’t even think about it, and then, all of the sudden, I jump at every sound, every footstep.  I double check doors being locked at least 3 times a night.  In addition to that, I’m glad to not have music pounding underneath my feet, and the people in the apartment building over ALWAYS have it blasting on the weekends.  I can make out every single word (when the songs are in English), and all the songs they listen to have a ton of base.  Ugh.  Yeah, I’m definitely glad to be leaving this neighborhood.  Put one tab under the “pro” column.

I feel like I’ve been focusing on the move more than finding a job.  Mind you, there isn’t a ton I can do on the weekends, and I’ve already sent out my resume to a ton of places… I guess I should be happy that I have something to keep me busy.  Unemployment can be crippingly boring.

I’m assessing my food, making sure I have enough to last me until the move.  I have:

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1/2 a package of sliced turkey
  • 4 artichokes
  • 1/2 a package of brown rice
  • 4 small containers of Egg Beaters
  • 3 bags of assorted frozen vegetables
  • 5 cans of tuna
  • 3 boxes tomato soup
  • 1/2 a box of crackers
  • assorted trail mix, nuts
  • assorted condiments

Hopefully that will be enough.

 

Wow, I just detailed the contents of my refrigerator.  Has this blog finally come to that?  Yikes.

 

Currently listening to Meiko: http://www.imeem.com/meiko/playlist/ZMRRHRnO/meiko_music_playlist/

~ by Alli on Sunday, August 10, 2008.

4 Responses to “Adventures in Unemployment, Day Five”

  1. wow…

    well that certainly wouldn’t be enough food for me that’s for sure. :p

  2. Seems we’re in the same boat with the packing and whatnots. I feel for you and wish you luck. As for me, I can hardly wait until this is all over (and I’ve barely just begun). Sigh. Moving is a b**ch.

  3. Tell me about it. I’ve had to do it three times this summer. I’m over it all.

  4. ha. that wasnt me above there.

Leave a Reply

 
