No Rest for the Wicked

Insomnia is something I have been dealing with since thrown into the bowels of unemployment in the summertime. Because, when you spend hours online searching job listings, and then another few hours cleaning out closets, naps are EXTREMELY appealing. However, then you can’t fall asleep until 3 am. Fuck.  Thank god for the internet.  Even still, I’m going running tomorrow.  I’m imagining thats gonna be painful on only 5 hours sleep.

 

 

Santa Monica Pier

This has nothing to do with anything, but I have always loved this picture that my uncle took.  I really like photography, and I find myself getting more and more interested in it.  Sometimes, I see a really great shot of something (usually found art) at whatever angle I’m sitting or standing, and when I try to take a picture with my point and shoot, it doesn’t come out the way I see it.  I really want a Canon Rebel XT.  A friend of mine says it’s not good for photoshoots, but as I said, I’m more interested in found art than people.  Or if I do take pictures of people, it’s when they aren’t looking.  Even better if I don’t know them 🙂

In other news, I have come to the realization that I have the ability to be REALLY mean. I’m not a very nice person sometimes. I like to think that I’m a good person with a good heart. However, there are times when my own selfishness and lack of concern for others startles me. I can be good and kind, but there are times when I am a truly awful person. I’m selfish and mean-spirited and hateful. I’m lazy, with a sailor’s tongue and a vicious sense of entitlement. I find myself turning more and more into this person the older I get.

Today’s new favorite website: http://www.cassettefrommyex.com/  My favorite mix is this one.

~ by Alli on Sunday, August 10, 2008.

5 Responses to “No Rest for the Wicked”

  1. I love your photo, the colors are great. Night time shots can be so interesting.

  2. Ohhh that’s a very pretty photo 🙂 I had a Canon Rebel buuut an ex-friend of mine took it and never gave it back 😦 You should definitely pursue it if you feel like you’ve got a passion for it!

  3. Your liking for this picture tells something about your state of mind. You find happiness and joy on the opposite shore yet you seem to be standing in a bit dark place…

    PS: the pic looks good .:)

  4. I wish I could take credit for this picture, but my uncle took it. Check him out at http://www.palmerinophotography.com

  5. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one with “unemployment insomnia.”

Leave a Reply

 
