The final days of solitude, and Day Sixteen of Unemployment

I unplugged my refrigerator today, in preperation of the move (you need to keep a fridge unplugged for 24 hours before moving it.  And even then, it’s a huge bitch.  I can’t tell you how many people I know whose refrigerators didn’t work properly after a move.  I’m terrified.)  As a result, I have no more food.  Correction:  I have 2 boxes of Low Sodium Tomato Soup.  Thats it.  Thats all I have to live on for the next 2 days.  Dear lord.

I miss my daily iced green tea fix.

I miss ice cubes.

I miss food that isn’t Ramen.  (Oh yeah, I have ramen too.  All soup.  In 90 degree weather.  Its remarkably fitting for the way my life is going lately.)

One more day til the move.  This place is really looking depressing now.  Everything is pretty much packed up, things are off the walls.  The closets are bare.  For the first time since the decision to move, I’m really starting to mourn the loss of my home for the past 2 years.  A home that was entirely my own.  I didnt have to answer to anyone except my landlord.  All the food in the fridge was mine.  The mess was mine.  It was MINE.  And now it’s essentially gone.

This is the first time in a long while that I haven’t left a place and thought “Good riddance.”, all while moving on to bigger and (seemingly, at the time) better things.  I’m moving backwards.  And it has suddenly hit me how hard it is going to be to see this place empty again, and hand over the keys.

~ by Alli on Friday, August 22, 2008.

One Response to “The final days of solitude, and Day Sixteen of Unemployment”

  1. I can’t believe you’re moving tomorrow. 😦

Leave a Reply

 
