Adventures in Unemployment, Day Twenty Six

This is the longest I have ever gone without a job.

It was easy to ignore at first.  I was focused on the move, packing everything up, going through everything and throwing things away.  I was still job hunting of course, but the move itself felt like a full time job.

Now I’m settled in… and I’m starting to feel like a schlub.  I sit around the house all day while my mom is at work.  I feel so useless.  I’ve only been here about 4 days, and my mom, to her credit, has been really great.  She hasn’t been pushing me or criticizing me ( much. ), but I know that’s not going to last forever.  I want to be out of her hair as much as possible, and not feel as much as an imposition as I know I am.

There is a job that I’m really interested in, thats out in Orange County.  I feel kind of ridiculous, because when my friend told me it was open at her company, I was all “Oh, I would love to, but I really don’t want to live out in Orange County”.

But I kept thinking about it and thinking about it.  It seemed like a great opportunity that does not come along very often.  And as my mom put it, MOST people don’t look for jobs, really GOOD, FULFILLING, CAREER jobs in conjunction with where they live.  They look for a great job, and THEN figure out where to live.

So I contacted my friend, said I was interested, and what would I need to do.

I feel so foolish, because, even though they train, it seems like I don’t have the experience that they need.  Don’t get me wrong, I think I could do this job, and do it WELL, but the chances of me getting the job are slim.  I feel silly for a) hemming and hawing about it in the first place, and b) thinking I had a great chance of getting it.  It’s still not out of the realm of possibility… but it’s an odd sensation, setting aside your plans and expectations for something truly great, only to have it not really matter.

~ by Alli on Thursday, August 28, 2008.

One Response to “Adventures in Unemployment, Day Twenty Six”

  1. ORANGE EFFING COUNTY!!!!???

    Do you realize that that’s even further away from me than Monrovia?!

    I don’t mean to impose, but I totally disagree with your mom’s logic. The place I’d want to live would be more important to me. But I guess since I don’t have a job right now, it’s easier for me to say such things. Of course, you can do whatever you want. I love you.

Leave a Reply

 
