I love Jack Donaghy, I hate Sarah Palin

I make no secret that I love “30 Rock”.  For a show that started out with less than sure footing, it has become one of the funniest shows on television, in my opinion.  I quote that damn show constantly, and I not-so-secretly want to be a hybrid of Tina Fey/Liz Lemon.

Alec Baldwin is a big part of why that show is good.

“What am I, a farmer?”. Hehe.

Say what you will about his, ehem, PERSONAL drama, that man is talented. The episodes of SNL that he has hosted are some of the funniest in existence. He is also a staunch Democrat (woo!), and apparently, he has a blog.

His last post made a really interesting point about Sarah Palin.  How, originally, he though McCain was the next Bush, but Palin is.  Pointing out the parallels between both her and Baby W’s lack of experience, he says:

“John McCain is, statistically, more likely to die or suffer some catastrophic illness during his first term than any other man that has sought the office. Who would succeed him? George Bush would succeed him. Someone with no record. No experience. Only question marks. Everywhere. Forget about the fact that Palin looks a lot like a really attractive TV star I know. Underneath all the Tina, she’s George.”

Yikes.  However, there is one vast difference between the two.  Palin seems smart.  Evil, and ignorant in the way most Republicans are (teaching safe sex in schools, censorship of public libraries, etc.)… but vicious and conniving.  I am truly terrified of the idea of her in office.  There is something about her eyes, and the very hypocritical nature of her “conservative” ways, that I just don’t trust.  She IS very good looking.  Jimmy Kimmel said something very funny the other day,

“She looks like one of those women in the Van Halen videos who takes off her glasses, shakes out her hair, and then all of the sudden, she’s in high heels and a bikini.”

I tried to watch some of the “highlights” of her acceptance speech, and of the 10 minute video on YouTube, I could only watch about 2:14 before I had to turn it off, as I got too angry.

~ by Alli on Sunday, September 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
