Books are my savior.

I do love the library.

One of the great things about moving to a new area, is that you get a new library.  Certain books that your library never had available, or lost years ago, the new library has in stock.

Another thing that most people don’t realize… A lot of libraries have great CD’s for loan.  You take em home, burn them onto your computer, an you’re done!

This trip alone, I got:

Aerosmith – Nine Lives

The Weepies – Hideaway ( I REALLY wanted this CD.)

Elvis Presley – The Number One Hits (My Ipod was seriously lacking in some Elvis tunes.)

Kylie Minogue – X ( I already really liked “2Hearts”, and I imagine the rest of the CD is pretty rockin workout music.  Now all I need to do is work out.)

Portishead – Third ( The only electronica I seem to like.  I already have “Dummy”, and I love it.)

The Beach Boys – Summer Crush: Songs We Love to Love

Jim Croce – Photographs and Memories

Josh Groban – Josh Groban ( Ok, this may make me seem like a little old lady, but this is just a beautiful album.)

Natalie Imbruglia – Left of the Middle ( Another one I have been wanting for MONTHS.)

 

Additionally, i didnt even need to resort to my books to read notebook on this trip either.  As soon as I walked in, i spotted 3 I wanted to read: The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls, Straight Man by Richard Russo, and (the critically acclaimed) The Brief Wundrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz (which was one of the books that I was having a hard time finding.)

Sadly, between this trip and last, I’m pretty sure I pillaged the best stuff they had.  Good news is, I can go to the San Marino library where Tera the super librarian works, and open a card there, in case Arcadia doesn’t have something I want.

Seriously, even if you aren’t a reader, I don’t get why more people don’t go to the library.  These days, most of the good ones have tons of CDs and movies too. 

And if you ARE a reader…well, really you just have no excuse to NOT go to the library.

I think, if I could afford it, and there was a nice one, I would totally pull a Carrie Bradshaw and get married in a library.

 

Sigh…Books are my best distraction from everything that is going on right now.

 

On a side note, in case he reads this, I want to wish my big bunny rabbit a wonderful, happy happy birthday.

birthday bunny 2

He’s probably going to make a face similiar to this.

~ by Alli on Tuesday, September 9, 2008.

3 Responses to “Books are my savior.”

  1. Thank you for my bunny. I like his little hat.

  2. DAMN straight.

  3. The library is bomb.

Leave a Reply

 
