have to admit/ it’s gettin’ better

I got approved for unemployment! *As Allison lets out a giant sigh.*

I can’t explain how unbelievably relieved I am.  Not only for the obvious financial reasons (gas in my car!  Some form of regular money coming in!), but for my sanity as well.  I’ve felt so awful having to rely on my mother for everything.  Food, gas, my car registration, toothpaste, textbooks, etc.  I know that money has been tight for her lately because she has been helping me, and as someone who has been self sufficient for a really long time…having someone else having to support you is definitely a hit to the ego.

Additionally, I’m really happy I don’t have to go and do battle with my old work.  Something I hadn’t mentioned on here before, but my previous employer was trying to get the EDD to deny my unemployment.  I shouldn’t have been suprised, because I had seen them do the exact same thing to other employees who had been let go.  Even still, it was hard to hear all the awful, unfair, and grossly exaggerated things they had said about me when I had my phone interview with EDD.  And if I had ultimately been denied benefits, I would have had to appeal, and gone to a hearing and listen (again) to all these things, and plead my side of it.  Stand face to face with these people who obviously had so little respect for me. 

Needless to say, I am truly, truly relieved that it didn’t come to that. 

Spent the day with Tera yesterday, it was a blast.  Ate pizza, watched “The Prestige” (we both TOTALLY sighed “I love Michael Caine” at the same time.  Because we are nerds.  Or little old ladies.  Probably a little of both.)  We went to her work, I got to scope out some more free music (Brian Wilson’s “Smile”, Madeline Peyroux, Stevie Wonder and the Les Miserables soundtrack.), and we spent the day watching movies and cutting out stuff for her children’s storytime at the library.  That plus the pretty pretty money that came in the mail equaled a pretty nice day.

Getting prepped for next week.  Praying for a 2nd interview for the job I interviewed for last week.  Everyone think really good thoughts for me.

~ by Alli on Sunday, September 14, 2008.

3 Responses to “have to admit/ it’s gettin’ better”

  1. well it’s sounding like things are finally starting to look up. I’m proud of you. I can’t believe those assholes. I want to go over there and shit on their desks, they make me so mad. Sorry for the gross visual.

  2. Wow. that’s just… wow. However odd, and slightly nauseating that visual was, your loyalty is always appreciated, sweetie.

  3. I had so much fun yesterday!! Thank you for all of your help w/the apartment hunting and storytime cutouts! We love Michael Caine!!

Leave a Reply

 
