Girls Just Wanna Have Fun.

Today was a wonderful day.  🙂

Not only was it cool and rainy and overcast (which I know sounds depressing, but really, it was very lovely.), but I got to spend a great day with my mom.

We went to LACMA so I could look at their ancient art exhibit, since I have a Visual Analysis paper due for my Art History class. Unfortunately, no one piece struck my fancy enough to choose as the subject of my paper. However, I plan on going to the Getty this week (hopefully), and I’m going to Norton Simon next Saturday with Haley. We still got to see some great things.

Mom talked about living in Park LaBrea when she was a little girl:

This was the building she grew up in.

The building my mother grew up in.

I took some great photos of some works and my mom. There are a ton of them on my Flickr account, but here are some of my favorites:

Fabiola Exhibit

Mom in front of Weeping Coconuts by Frida Kahlo

(it looks artistic, but really, it’s just my mother trying to avoid having her picture taken.)

Soon, she started playing along. Sorta. 🙂

My mom is cute when she's being eaten by a plastic fish.

Retrospect. Column

We walked around for hours, talking about art (my mother studied Renaissance and Impressionist Art, and is suprisingly knowledgable about different mediums) had a yummy lunch at the Museum Cafe, took tons of pictures, and then stopped for margaritas on the way home. It’s rare that we have a day like that, just the two of us, and I’m extremely grateful. However, there are no words to describe how much my feet are hurting today. Between 3 hours of dancing last night, and 4 hours of walking around the museum, my dogs are barking. Loudly.

Good weekend.

~ by Alli on Sunday, October 5, 2008.

2 Responses to “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun.”

  1. Wait….I never saw Magritte at LACMA! WTF!!?!?! Where was I?!

    And your mom grew up in Park La Brea? Lucky!

  2. what a cute vid of you and your mom. This made me miss lacma so much. George and I have been wanting to go since August now.

Leave a Reply

 
