I’ll make the most of it, I’m an extraordinary machine.

It’s funny, I try not to post a lot when I don’t really have any good news, or well, NEW news.  Just seems like the same old whining, and no one needs to hear that.  Suprisingly, I’ve been getting emails, texts from friends asking why I havent been posting lately.  So, here goes.

Went to The Getty Center today, doing more research for my paper.  In hindsight, I should have gone to The Getty VILLA, as they have a more extensive collection of ancient works.  Either way, I got to spend a fun day with Chris (sadly, I wasn’t horribly impressed with the collections they had.)  We took lots of pictures (which can be seen on my Flickr account.)  Here are a couple of my favorites:

One of my faves.

Thats about right.

Thank you, Mr. Getty.

The beast is tired

I actually have about 3 weeks to finish the paper, so I can still check out the collection at the Getty Villa before it’s due.

As far as everything else in my life, while I’m looking for work, I’ve had a pleasantly full social calendar lately. I got to go to LACMA with my mom last Saturday, go dancing with the girls, spend time with Tera in her new apartment, go to Getty today, Norton Simon with Haley on Saturday, and Disneyland on Sunday. Not to mention the assorted plays, birthdays, and Halloween festivities coming up in weeks to come.

I know it won’t always be this way, and that soon I will go back to sitting at home with nothing to do and no money to do it with, so for now, I’m appreciative of upcoming activities. To some, it may seem like like I’m not taking my unemployment seriously, goofing off and mooching off my mom. This is simply not true. I’m aggressively looking for work, and in the meantime, I might as well enjoy the time I have. I haven’t had anything resembling a vacation in years. No spring or summer break from school, no trip anywhere that lasted longer than a couple days (and usually for family purposes, not for my own enjoyment.)  I feel fortunate that I have people to spend this time with, and a mother who is suprisingly supportive.

And as far as the job-hunt goes, I have some things in the works right now, that I don’t want to talk about JUST yet. 🙂  But if all goes to plan, I’ll have good news soon.  In the meantime, I’m taking lots of pictures!

~ by Alli on Friday, October 10, 2008.

3 Responses to “I’ll make the most of it, I’m an extraordinary machine.”

  1. Yay!!!! Can’t wait for Norton Simon…Say…meet up around 1:30-2:00 pm-ish? And, do you mind if my friend from out of town goes with us? She sort of, like, flew in short notice. She’s cool though! YOu’ll like her!

  2. I’m glad you’re taking more pics. when are you coming to see Earnest?

  3. DISNEYLAND ON SUNDAY!!!

Leave a Reply

 
