Touch me.

Touch.

touch

Touch is something that we take for granted, especially if date/have sex/have long term relationships on a regular basis.  I find that now, in my almost 5th month of being single, I long for human physical connection.  When you are in a relationship, you don’t need to worry about such things.  You always have someone to hug, kiss, a hand to hold.  Of course, we have friends, we have family members, but of course, you don’t touch them as much, with as much ease and regularity.  It’s not until you don’t have that easily available to you, are you aware how often you need to keep your hands to yourself.

For example: I went to Universal Studios’ Halloween Horror Nights last night, and was constantly grabbing onto assorted friend’s assorted coat tails, hands, arms in fright (I’m a gigantic wuss.)  But they were brief, and soon, to prevent awkardness, you let go.  Not things I would normally think of, but I was surrounded mostly by people I don’t know that well… ok I’m rambling at this point.  The point I’m trying to make is that, when you aren’t dating anyone, we focus on the lack of kissing, cuddling, sex.  We take for granted the simple act of being able to reach out…and touch someone.

I was discussing this with my friend who used to teach yoga, and she explained to me that there is a whole school of thought around touch.  That regular (affection-based) touch has been shown to be healthy for the skin (and probably the psyche).  Additionally, I was on RealAge.com, and they talked about how having a pet makes you younger, simply by the excercise you get, and the regular affection you recieve.

I am, by nature, a very affectionate person, both physically and emotionally. Others aren’t. They hate to touch, be touched. To each his own, I guess. But to those of you who are affectionate, and to those of you that aren’t, either way, find someone who you feel comfortable touching, and hug them, give a pat on the back, ruffle their hair. It might make you feel…good. And who knows, it might just be what they needed and didn’t even know it.

~ by Alli on Monday, October 20, 2008.

One Response to “Touch me.”

  1. Seriously, I know. I was thinking about this awhile ago. These exact thoughts. I thought about them again when science dude finally made a move and I realized it had been entirely too long since I’ve been hugged and kissed and all that.

    Weird. You read my mind. lol.

Leave a Reply

 
