small victories!

I totally appealed my first and only parking ticket, and guess what?  I won that bitch.

A few months ago, I was in Manhattan Beach visiting Chris and Family, and there was no street parking available (as its practically beach front, so everyone who is visiting the beach just parks in the residential neighborhoods and walks down to the beach), so I just parked in the alley right next to their house, as I have done many times in the past.  Anyways, I got a ticket because at the waayyy other end of the alley (which has a big hill in the middle of it), there is a “no parking” sign.

Normally, I don’t like fighting battles I don’t think I’m going to win.  Yes, yes, I know I’m passionate and argumentative and whatnot… but most of the time, I’m just too lazy to do battle, especially if I know it’s not going to make a damn bit of difference to the person I’m speaking to (hence why I don’t many Republican friends.  Kidding!  Well, actually, no.) I have so many friends who have appealed parking tickets and lost.

But money is tight, and I had much better uses for my $35, so I wrote the City of Manhattan Beach explaining that the sign could not be easily viewed from where I was, and I should not be held accountable for unclear signage.

Just got the letter a couple days ago… “You owe nothing.”

I’m so fucking awesome.  Thats me, beating “the man”, one day at a time.

~ by Alli on Thursday, October 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
