Reaching Across the Aisle

While on my wordpress homepage, and I came across this blog.

Pretty much everything I have been thinking. But the remarkable hatred that was shown in the comments thread… I was so excited about how united this country was feeling with Obama being elected, that I didn’t stop to think of all the hatred that still abounds.

My comment:

“I only read about halfway down the comments before I just couldnt anymore.

Helen was not bashing Palin because she is a woman. Quite the contrary. She is bashing her because some people have foolishly tried to label Palin as some sort of revolutionary feminist… name one VALID reason why she was chosen as McCain’s running mate? Show me some amazing things she has done as governor. I’ll wait.

the fact is, she was chosen for SOLELY political reasons. and it backfired. If he had chosen someone with a bit more experience, and not just a pretty, ambitious, relatively dumb lady to yell all the right slogans, he might very well have won.”

I recently found out that 2 of my favorite aunts are Republican. I was surprised, simply because they have seemed to agree with most of my liberal rants that I make on occasion (though not as much at family functions.), and… I don’t know. I didn’t WANT to believe it?

This election has made very political people out of all of us. And while I am a very liberal person, I am usually one who is more passionate about issues (gay marriage, women’s rights, and animal rights) than politics.

Perhaps we should get back to that.

While out on the dating scene (in the minimal way that I am.), I feel like more and more I have to lay my politics out on the table more and more. Yes, thats fine if you are a Republican… no, I probably don’t want to date you. I am all for embracing each other’s differences. But if you are of the belief that my gay people do not deserve the same rights as heterosexuals (and dont say that “civil unions” are enough.), or you think the government deserves ANY say in what I do with my body should I become pregnant… well, we probably aren’t going to get along.

And if you voted for McCain/Palin…well…I just can’t understand your logic, and probably have lost some respect for you already.

My friend Mark (currently my lone Republican friend, which he is constantly teasing me for, “I’m your ‘charity’ Republican”, and such.), says that I judge members of his party too harshly. That when I say I won’t EVER date a Republican, that I’m dismissing people unfairly. That I should at least hear them out, find out WHY they believe what they believe. Not so I can change their mind, or that they can change mine, but simply to hear another point of view. And maybe he’s right (and while he did vote for McCain, he also voted NO on 8, so I don’t have to disown him as a friend.)

I still don’t think that I will ever date a Republican, but perhaps I shouldn’t dismiss them as friends. President Obama has spoken of more bipartisanship, and perhaps we should all try to heal some of the wounds that have been opened during the election. Obviously extreme red-state views and I are never going to see eye to eye (and thank goodness for that), but there are plenty of intelligent Republicans out there. Hopefully this upcoming administration will really and truly bring forth what Obama spoke of throughout his whole campaign…change.

And on a lighter note, please see Prop 8: The Musical (AKA the greatest thing I’ve seen all week)

There is real truth in all of this, FYI.

~ by Alli on Thursday, December 4, 2008.

One Response to “Reaching Across the Aisle”

  1. Yeah, I don’t blame you. Not that I am party racist, but having such “radical” beliefs…well…you know.

    That’s why Laura Bush makes me LOL. She was a Democrat, a women’s rights person, a lover of education…

    AND SHE MARRIED BUSH?!?!?

Leave a Reply

 
