There are books all over this place

My love for literature/reading in general has become a bit overwhelming.

With all this free time on my hands, I’ve been trying to make up for all the reading I’ve missed out on during the year. However, between books I buy (because I’m physically incapable of walking into a bookstore and NOT spending money.), library books (which have to be back by a certain date), and books that friends have lent me (again, I don’t want to hold onto them indefinitely), there is reading material all over the place. The current literature in question:

Books from the Library:

“The Almost Moon” by Alice Sebold

-I read and loved both “The Lovely Bones”, and the memoir “Lucky”, and…appreciated them both.  I mean, “Bones” was a lovely, if dark book.  It would be safe to say I loved it, but “Lucky” is the authors memoir of being raped… I can’t really say I loved it or enjoyed it… I was moved by it, deeply.  Anyways, I have yet to be disappointed by this author, so I look forward to reading her latest.

“Wigfield” by Amy Sedaris, Paul Dinello and Stephen Colbert

-I’ve been wanting to read this book for YEARS, and finally found a library that carries it.  Light read.  I also want to read “The Book of Liz” by David and Amy Sedaris, but I think I’ll have to order online or go to Samuel French for that.

“You Poor Monster” by Michael Kun

-This has been at the front of my “Books to Read” notebook for as long as I’ve had it.  I need to finally read it already.

That I’ve Bought:

“The Unbearable Lightness of Being” by Milan Kundera
– A classic (which is a “genre” of book that I don’t read nearly enough), it was on sale, and the book I am currently in the middle of.  I think I started reading it first because it was the smallest?  Anyways, I should probably finish that later today.  Side note:  I am seeing more parallels between Tomas and Tereza and my last relationship than I am at ALL comfortable with.

“The Mayor of Castro Street” by Randy Shilts

– I really want to see “MILK”, have wanted to see it (and read this book) for a while now.  Actually found out about this book ages ago, when it was mentioned in “The Perks of Being a Wallflower”.  I know the movie isn’t based on this particular book (or is it?), but I wanted to read about him before I saw Hollywood’s version, just as I like to read the original book before I see the movie adaptation.  So, if I want to see MILK in theaters, I’m gonna need to read this book soon.

In addition to that, I have a few books that I bought at dollar sales, libraries, etc., where I couldn’t NOT buy it.

“Million Dollar Baby” by F.X. Toole

-This isn’t super important to me, but I will read it at some point.

“Angela’s Ashes” by Frank McCourt

-Read the first 10 pages, couldn’t stay focused, but I think they may strip me of my bookworm title if I don’t finish it.

“One Hundred Years of Solitude” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

-read and loved “Love in the Time of Cholera”, but it was definitely not a light read, and I’m sure this isn’t either.  Need to be in a state of mind where I can sink my teeth into it.

Books Lent to Me:

“You Mean I’m Not Lazy, Stupid of Crazy?”

-It’s a self help book for adults with Attention Deficit Disorder.  I’m not joking when I say I keep meaning to read this book, but I keep getting distracted.  Sheesh.  Sometimes, I’m a walking pun.

“Watchmen” by Alan Moore

– I’m not exaggerating when I say almost ALL of my friends have already read this graphic novel.  It’s going to Watchmen pandemonium next year, and I should be prepared.  Plus, the first graphic novel to win a Nobel (or was it Pulitzer) prize?  I have GOT to see what all the fuss is about.  And the friend that lent this to me has promised to lend it to other people as well, so I  need to hurry it up as well.

“Diet for a New America” by John Robbins

-I’ve been eating a primarily vegan diet for about a month now, and this was lent to me so I can learn more about th reasons behind eating a more compassionate diet.  Will also help field the “why the hell are you doing this” questions.

So yeah.  My bedroom is pretty much book central right now.  In addition to that, I have studying,  trying to keep (relatively) updated with current events, and, you know, a social life.  How do these intelligent, well informed, social, well read humans do it?

Ok, enough blogging, I’ve got some reading to do!

~ by Alli on Sunday, December 7, 2008.

5 Responses to “There are books all over this place”

  1. The only two books I’ve read from this list, are Million Dollar Baby, before the film came out. And Angela’s Ashes, which will forever remain to be one of the best books I’ve ever read. I really want to read The Unbearable Lightness of Being, and I still haven’t even finished Twilight. I just don’t read as often as I should, or as I would like. But at least I’m reading right now, huh?

  2. If I were taking the course load you were taking, I wouldn’t have time to read either. But I don’t have a job and only take one class. Once you are done with school in the spring, I’ll have TONS of books to lend to you 🙂

  3. YAY for reading!! Also wanted to mention not to bother buying “The Book of Liz” (or any other book/play you don’t want to buy but can’t find at your local library, for that matter). I did a quick search on WorldCat (www.worldcat.org) and several branches of LAPL have it, so I’d just head out to your nearest LAPL branch and request it or do an Inter-Library Loan from them through your local SGV lib. ILL’s run around $3, but it’s cheaper than ordering something you weren’t really planning on buying through Samuel French.

    YAY for reading and the awesome power of libraries!!! 😀

  4. Diet for a New America will definitely help you in your decision to go vegan. It really gives a voice to all those thoughts in your head.

    Let me borrow Unbearable Lightness of Being when you’re done!!!!

    And, you are so on my team next trivial pursuit!! lol.

  5. marquez wrote a poem called “el dulce sabor de una mujer exquisita.” i wanted to know in what book is this poem located.

    thank you

    eddyche

Leave a Reply

 
