Reflections on 2008

As I said to my friend earlier, my hope is for this to be more witty, clever and insightful, and less “What I Did On My Summer Vacation”

This has been quite a year. Some highlights:

*Ended my relationship of 3 years.

*Dyed my hair pink. Then chopped it all off after only having it for about 3 months.

*Lost job; had to move back in mother (temporarily).

*Started eating a primarily vegan diet.

There have been other changes in between these more notable ones. Making new friends, expanding my social circle and building more of a social life, losing a bit of weight, and ever slowly trying to figure out what the hell I want to do with my life. These all stem from the big 4, though.

Your 20’s are obviously the time in your life where every year that passes leaves you different and (hopefully) a little better. But this year has changed me… to the core. The person who entered 2008 and the person who is leaving are 2 entirely different people. What is even more amazing is, I, by nature a creature of habit who hates change…am very happy about it.

I guess I should touch on what about me HAS changed, rather than the events that changed me, which I think I have covered pretty thoroughly :

* I have learned to let go: This goes for friendships and crushes/dates/relationships. Too often I have clung to someone or the idea of someone longer than is needed, or even healthy. Cutting people out of your life is usually an extreme that I would rather not take, but I’ve just stopped making the most effort. Stopped forcing a friendship that just aint happening. “Taken the hint” when the guy I have a crush on just isn’t interested. Too often I have been taken for granted by friends and lovers…and I need to stop wasting my time on people who aren’t ultimately worth it.

*Became more comfortable with going out of my comfort zone: I am, by nature, a creature of habit. As a Taurus (the bull), we are very set in our ways and very stubborn, and it takes a lot for me to see other people’s viewpoints, or change my own habits. However, when you have a year such as this that knocks you on your ass multiple times, it makes it hard to NOT change your viewpoints, or see things in a different light. I also have made new friends that have made a point to pull me out of my comfort zone, and push me to do things I wouldn’t normally do. Like go dancing. Like go vegan. Like look for jobs in places I normally wouldn’t. To drive all over Los Angeles, to places I don’t know very well or at all.

Stopped settling: This ties in with the first one a great deal. I’m done settling w/ mediocre expectations from others, but mostly from myself. Too often I do things half-assed, or don’t follow through with ideas or plans. This has changed, and will continue to change.

I’m sure there are other, more minute things that have changed about me over the past 12 months, but those are the biggies. I’ve never been a big believer in waiting for the new year to put in motion the changes/improvements you hope to see in yourself. I have already started doing the things I strove/strive to do. However, it is nice to know that I am starting out the year with all these great new ideas and habits already in place, or in process.

While 2008 was a learning experience to say the least, heres hoping that 2009 is the year where my dreams start coming true.

Happy new year!

~ by Alli on Wednesday, December 31, 2008.

2 Responses to “Reflections on 2008”

  1. Here Here! I feel the exact same way! Love ya babe! Have fun tonight!

  2. You forgot…YOU GOT AN A IN FUCKING PIERCE’S CLASS!

Leave a Reply

 
