Allison now does her own stunts.

Update: I was misdiagnosed, my hand is fractured.

Gee, where to start… I guess just start with the facts.

Yesterday, I was cut off on the 57 freeway, causing me to go careening head-first into the center divider, knocking the car on the passenger side, with the driver side propped up on the center divider. I stayed still for about a minute, dazed of course, and probably would have stayed and waited for an ambulance to come and move me, but I saw fire coming out of the hood. Needless to say, it knocked me out of my reverie, I unbuckled my seatbelt, fell to the floor, and then climbed out of the (thankfully open) sun roof.

As I was climbing out, a witness rushed over and helped me to my feet, dragging me away from the car as the flames grew. It was completely engulfed in flames within 5 minutes. If the sunroof had not been open, there is a very good chance I would not have made it out alive, or would have gotten burned or inhaled excessive amounts of smoke.

Truthfully, I wish I could say that when I was hitting that wall, my life flashed before my eyes, and I was thinking about whether I was going to survive or not. truthfully, I was thinking about my car. It didn’t REALLY hit me until hours later, when I was getting a CAT scan, that it really and truly hit me. I could have died. Been knocked unconscious, trapped in a burning car.

But my injuries are minimal, considering:

wreck

I have a bruised collarbone and possible whiplash. The bandages on my chest are from the seatbelt cutting into me upon collision. On my left arm, I have burns from the airbag. My right hand is pretty swollen, and my ring finger can”t straighten on its own anymore. I sprained my right wrist. My right knee is pretty sore bruised and swollen, and I’m limping a bit when I walk. And then of course I have assorted scratches and bruises.

Its nothing when you see what I walked away from:



And you wanna hear something kinda creepy? Right before I left the house that day, I was listening to Queen’s “Don”t Stop Me Now”, and this was my very last Facebook status:


Allison is Two hundred degrees That’s why they call me mister fahrenheit.

~ by Alli on Tuesday, January 27, 2009.

8 Responses to “Allison now does her own stunts.”

  1. […] Allison now does her own stunts. « Allison’s Eclectic Expatiation […]

  2. shit….

    Geez, I am so thankful, that sunroof was open!

  3. I don’t think you can call me a bad driver anymore! 😛

    No, I’m kidding. I’m still in like awe and shock. And, so so so so so happy you’re ok. TWo weeks ago a close friend of mine’s brother was in a horrible car accident, but…didn’t make it out.

    I give mucho hugs and mucho love and hope for a mucho speedy recovery.

  4. Nah, I’m still a better driver than you Halez.

  5. I don’t know, man. My car’s never been on fire. 😛

  6. That is unbelievable. Well, you have pictures, so I suppose it is believable. Theoretically unbelievable.

    And that Facebook status… totally creepy!

    I think I will drive with my sunroof open for the rest of my life. So glad you are okay!

  7. […] through the graveyard A year ago on Monday, I was in a car accident. Actually, a car wreck would be more appropriate.  It spun, it crashed, it flipped, it burned, it […]

  8. […] Fellow blogger/Film Pig Pal/Twitter Buddy/Facebook Friend Allison surived this absolutely horrific car crash and I am in awe. Obvious chumps to the crash, but champs for quick thinking, walking away from that […]

Leave a Reply

