I have seen the city’s true face…

SPOILER ALERT

My thoughts on “Watchmen”, which I got to see on Saturday on IMAX.

I actually kinda liked the changed ending, I thought it tied everything up a little better than a giant squid/aliens. The performances were great, except for Laurie (Silk Spectre II), who I found annoying and weak and non-superhero like. But then, I remembered that I didn’t like her character that much in the book, so maybe her performance was spot on.

Dr. Manhattan’s penis showed up more in the movie than I remember it showing up in the graphic novel, and it was a bit distracting. I thought Patrick Wilson was great as the Nite Owl, but I don’t remember him being quite so whiny in the book. However, all in all, I thought his performance was great, and if the character came off whiny, it was due to the screenplay and not due to his performance.

Jackie Earle Haley was spectacular. He WAS Rorshach. Jeffrey Dean Morgan was also pitch perfect as The Comedian.

All in all, I thought it was a very interesting interpretation of a very tricky and complicated tale. I loved how it was shot, specifically the fact that it really LOOKED like a comic book. Where a lot of comic book movies (Spiderman, Batman, etc), set these supernatural characters in a regular world (which, to their credit, sometimes works well.), I liked that Watchmen took it in a different direction. This is an alternate reality, not a story injected into OUR reality. The costumes, the performances, the cinematography, was all comic book-ish (the best example are the opening shots in the beginning credits.) My only concern is that they may not have included enough backstory to make sense to those who have not read the graphic novel.

It was a fun day, seeing the movie with a group of my friends (almost entirely guys.). We went to see it at the Universal IMAX, and they had “Archie” on display:

I watch the Watchmen

Then we went to Karl Strauss and drank beer and discussed the movie ad nauseum. It was a fun night, and I was happy to spend time with a big group.

Then, today, I took Lainey on a 4-5 mile hike at Fryman Canyon in Studio City. I drive up to her apartment, and I see her come out in a designer t-shirt, jeans, and ballet flats. After ignoring my urging that she run back in and change, we went on our way. Needless to say, I was right, and Lainey, god love her, has a flair for the dramatic:

All in all, it was a great weekend with lovely weather and great friends. Insert smile here.

~ by Alli on Sunday, March 8, 2009.

3 Responses to “I have seen the city’s true face…”

  1. oh you love me, and my dramatic antics! xoxo

  2. The comic book has a very different ending, including some seriously trippy tentacles:

    http://fullbodytransplant.wordpress.com/2009/03/09/watchmen-squid-the-real-ending/

    Enjoy.

  3. I know. I HAVE read the comic book.

Leave a Reply

 
