recuperating with the boob tube

All this down time has given me a chance to catch up on/familiarize myself with movies/television shows I wouldn’t normally have time for when I have, ya know, a life. So far, I’ve watched the entirety of Battlestar Galactica and Firefly, rewatched the entirety of Scrubs and Mad Men, and opened my eyes up to German Expressionism with M, Metropolis, and Nosferatu.  Not to mention my little Woody Allen marathon I’ve been running on my laptop (Vicky Cristina Barcelona, Midsummer Nights Sex Comedy, Crimes and Misdemeanors, Stardust Memories, and Mighty Aphrodite, which is up there as my favorite with Play It Again Sam and Sleeper.)

Anyways, I’ve come to these conclusions:

1) Woody Allen may be nutty and not morally sound, but damn, he’s brilliant. If there is some sort of complete collection on DVD, I need to own it.

2) Re: BSG and Firefly: I’m a bigger geek than I ever imagined.

3) I want to be this woman:

Christina Hendricks is just amazingly hot. She was in a couple episodes of Firefly, and just…damn. She just exudes this class and sensuality that I would love to have. I mean, just look at her.

Geez.

4) I need to take some sort of film course at some point in school. Right now I’ve been picking the brains of assorted friends who were theater and film majors and getting recommendations. I’m not saying I would major in it, but I’m glad I’m expanding my horizons. Even if it has gotten in the way of my reading.

~ by Alli on Tuesday, March 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
