belief in good, or lack thereof

I am running out of positivity, despite the good luck I’ve had this week. St Johns Wort seems to make me happier, but it doesn’t help me stop caring.

I feel very lonely right now.

I used to think that my never-ending desire to believe that everyone in this world is inherently good was a noble, positive trait.  Now I’m starting to think that it’s just a specialized form of masochism.

Where is that line?  The one between not writing people off too quickly and letting yourself get treated badly?  Between being an isolated bitch or an isolated doormat?

Could you tell me?  Because I would really like to know.

~ by Alli on Thursday, April 16, 2009.

5 Responses to “belief in good, or lack thereof”

  1. You should never ever let yourself get treated badly by anyone…period. End of story. I wish I could follow my own advice and drop those people who treat me like shit, but I guess, I’m just waiting for that perfect opportunity for them to just sorta fade out. I love you, and I hope you keep your chin up!

  2. Respect and love yourself first and foremost. Think of yourself as your own friend. Now imagine if that person was treating your friend like that.

    Would you stand for it?

  3. […] IL Blog Central added an interesting post on belief in good, or lack thereofHere’s a small excerptSt Johns Wort seems to make me happier, but it doesn’t help me stop caring. […]

  4. I think there’s a line per situation, not in life. Circumstances can change everything, so there are no defined rules. Going with your gut in the bitch/doormat scenario usually will steer you in the right direction.

    And being a bitch sometimes isn’t so bad 😛

  5. Dude – being a bitch just means not taking shit from nooooo one.

Leave a Reply

 
