never laugh with spite, just sit there and say thank you

I saw this on PostSecret today, and wow, did it hit a (good) nerve.

18

I imagine that’s how I would have felt on my 18th birthday, if the day itself hadn’t been so wrought with turmoil. I know that on my most recent birthday of 24 years, I felt this way. So excited about what lay before me. I still feel that way (as I spent this morning talking once again with Emma about graphic design on our 6 am walk.), though I’m a wee bit antsy about getting things going already.

Anyone who can read the postcards on PostSecret and NOT be moved, touched, humored is not someone I want to know at all.

I’ve been very tired lately, and its bugging me. One of my favorite benefits about going vegan (besides not feeling guilty about eating animals) was that I had so much more energy. Mind you, I now have a full time job and a pretty active social life, which more easily lends itself to me feeling lethargic…but still. It bums me out. I’m hoping that once my morning walks with Emma turn into morning runs, I shall be a dynamo that cannot be stopped. In the meantime, I would just settle for not feeling like I’m on the verge of falling asleep when I read on my lunch break.

On one more note…whenever I stop to think that the universe is unfair and there is no point to things, and unfortunate events just beget other unfortunate events, never eventually leading to anything productive… I just have to remind myself of times like this.

The mantra “everything happens for a reason” may seem like a silly, oversimplified one, but it has proven itself time and again for the past 6 years. It has kept me sane in severe times of strife and misfortune, and has yet to really disappoint me. There is something to be learned from every single event that will transpire in your life.

I bring this up because in the past few days, something interesting has happened. And while I have no clue how this will all turn out, I know that these events, however small, transpired for a reason, and I am grateful, and simply enjoying it for what it is at this moment in time.

Man, I’ve gotten really effin zen in the past year. Go figure.

~ by Alli on Wednesday, June 10, 2009.

6 Responses to “never laugh with spite, just sit there and say thank you”

  1. Man, I’ve gotten really effin zen in the past year. Go figure.

    Yoga and veganism does that to ya!

  2. haha. I’m sure the 2 of have helped. but I think a lot of it has to do with just becoming my own person and growing up, and leaving behind childish bullshit.

    but fuck yeah yoga helps 🙂

  3. our morning walks will become runs when you want them to, love! just give me the word and we’ll both become unstoppable dynamos 😉

  4. what is post secret? i never heard of it–do you send them a postcard??

  5. Haley – growing the fuck up and getting rid of pointless people helps too, haha.

    Mom – postsecret.blogspot.com

    it’s amazing. and they change them weekly. people send in their secrets anonymously.

  6. No, no, no.

    It’s yoga, veganism, and Andy. Don’t try to pretend that isn’t the trifecta of life changes.

    😛

    (Don’t ask me why I’m up at 4:30 a.m. I have yet to figure that out.)

Leave a Reply

 
