this post is brought to you by someone who ate 3 whole potatoes at 11 pm

Note:  I took my final already, and I KICKED IT’S ASS.  Am very very happy.

I was a little too turned on watching “Citizen Kane” in class last night.  Orson Welles, super hot, insanely brilliant, and TALL.  Hummuna.  Seriously.  I bookmarked a couple books on him in GoodReads, as I’ve become more and more intrigued by this man that I would have most definitely had a picture of on my bedroom wall had I been alive in the 1940’s.

Anyways, I have my final today.  The first test I did well, the 2nd test I did NOT well (couldn’t keep straight the different types of shots and lenses and technical jargon.  Of course, being a former drama nerd, I did well on the prior test, which was all about acting styles and genres), so it’s all about this 3rd and final test, which discusses the ideology and critiques of films.  I feel pretty prepared, though I could be more so (and you never quite know what is gonna stick when you have that scantron in front of you.)  There is also an essay question where we have to break down the synthesis of a film.  I chose “Pieces of April” because, well…I own it on DVD.  Watched it on the roommate’s television last night (after listening to him complain about it’s “vagina cinema”), so I could get some ideas.  I’m actually really excited about that part of the test.

And then I have a summer break.  Kind of.  Still have work, of course.  And I plan on catching up on some reading, and not getting bogged down by silly mindless distractions (spending too much time on Facebook, rewatching television shows I have already seen).  I want to get more familiar with Photoshop before I start my design classes in the fall, and lose the 5 or so pounds I gained since I started class (which can be blamed on no more morning walks, and the late night, almost always unhealthy snacking I do when I get home from school).
Allison: I do not approve of this heat
Dan: vapors?
Allison: my heavens, yes
Dan: do you declare?
Allison: Why yes, yes I do.

I can probably blame the heat for my malaise and subsequent fattyness as well.  Oy.

One of the things I love the most about my friends is that they are totally down with little day adventures.  My friend Mitch seems to be the most down these days, accompanying me for picture taking at the Griffith Observatory

How ive gone this long without going to the Observatory at night, i have no idea.

los angeles, ca

my favorite picture of the evening

and Venice Beach, which is just packed to the gills with found art and interesting treasures.

Nice sunglasses of Mitch's and knockoff broken ones we found on the street

found on a side path in Venice

Venice, Ca

BTW, I do NOT remember there being that many medical marijuana dispensaries along the boardwalk. It was kinda ridiculous.

I also went to Animal Acres on Sunday with Haley (one of the friends who helped me become vegan), and one of my best friends from high school, Tera (who is becoming a vegetarian!  Woot!).  Haley and I had been there before, and volunteered for them at assorted events.  Tera had never been, and it was an absolute blast

2009 - July 158

2009 - July 163

2009 - July 176

But OMIGOD THE PIGS.

2009 - July 200

They were nuzzling and cuddling and just the biggest lovebugs on Sunday.  Tera at one point remarked how weird/awesome it was that they would just roam around, interacting with the humans like it was no big deal, relaxed and happy.  Thats the difference between a place like Animal Acres and a regular farm or even a petting zoo (which is usually a bit high stress for the animals, who are pawed by small children, and carted to and fro).  The animals at Animal Acres know that they are in a safe environment, and as a result, are able to live the way they are supposed to, and it’s a great chance for people to see how affectionate a turkey or a pig could be! (I would never in a million year expect for a turkey to sit right by my feet and let me pet him for as long as I pleased.)

But the pigs…the pigs were extra lovey on Sunday.  As a result…we spent a lot of time with them 🙂

2009 - July 196

2009 - July 195

2009 - July 191

Needless to say, it was a great day 🙂

At this point, its 12:30, and I have work in 8 hours.  I am literally just wasting time just because I can.  What a goober.

Anyways, off to bed with me.  I have a feeling my early morning walk wont be happening :P, but I can always go on Saturday before yoga.  I have a feeling this is going to be a good weekend (which may or may not have to do with C, man of the moment, getting back into town).

Ahhh to have a lunch break where I can actually relax instead of study!

~ by Alli on Friday, July 17, 2009.

2 Responses to “this post is brought to you by someone who ate 3 whole potatoes at 11 pm”

  1. I ♥ the pigs so much!!!!!!

    I think Deborah is canceling yoga on the 25th which is the same day AA is having a “Chore day/ potluck” of some sort.

  2. Gosh, the piggies look so cute in those pics! Especially the one where you’re rubbing it’s belly. They’re smiling. lol. Anyway, I’m glad summer school is finally over for you. I’m happy you rocked the final. I can’t wait to see you next weekend. I’m super nervous about it. Anyway, have fun with C ;p

Leave a Reply

 
