magic like houdini, granting wishes like jiminy cricket and santa claus

Why is it whenever I have clever insightful things I want to write about, as soon as I get out of the shower, they float away. Or get rinsed away?

I am actually very depressed that I can’t afford to see Regina Spektor at the El Rey next week. She NEVER comes to L.A.

This song makes me think of falling in love for the first time. The music and tonality reminds me of the feeling of glee and excitement that came along with falling in love at the age of 19. The lyrics remind me of everything else after. Is it odd that there is a song that “makes me think of him” that I didn’t hear til over a year after we broke up?

He’s been on my mind the last few days. Weird residual hurt feelings that I haven’t felt in a very long time matched with simply missing someone who used to be my best friend. I am not even sure if the person out there with his name and face is even that person anymore (I hope he is)…but I do miss that person. Very much.

This heat is affecting me in a very odd way, and driving me a little bit insane. I react to things differently, my hair is frizzy (the source of all my powers! NOOOOOOOOO!!), and all in all it’s causing my brain to go a bit wonky. I don’t like it. I don’t like it one bit. October cannot come fast enough.

I leave you with another Regina Spektor song. This album lives on an endless loop in my car at the moment:

(man, i really want to see her in concert. Few people’s music has as strong an effect on me as hers does.)

~ by Alli on Tuesday, July 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
