art-eeste

There are so many skills I would like to possess.  I feel like right now, I know how to DO a lot of things, but I don’t excel at any of them.  I used to be able to play the guitar, but I didn’t really know much “about guitar”.  And I couldn’t master bar chords.

I know how to knit, and knit good quality items, but WHAT I know how to knit is limited to scarves and blankets (basically anything in a box shape).

I know how to take pretty nice photographs, but I don’t know much ABOUT photography.

I am a decent artist, but have never had any training, and don’t know many “tips”.  I just draw.

It’s that last one that I’m actually going to do something about.  In the fall, after lots of talking about it, I’m taking the first steps into looking into graphic design as a career.  I’m a little scared.

For as long as I can remember, I have considered myself an artistic person.  I used to fill up pages and pages with drawings of women in fancy clothes (when i was very little, I wanted to either be an actress or a fashion designer).  I painted designs on my fingernails and made collages out of old magazines.  I would draw on my hands in school, on my friends hands, a precursor to me designing my own tattoo that I got when I was 18.

As I got older, my artistic endeavors became secondary to everything else. I rarely sketched for fun, usually making little cartoon strips for my boyfriend based on stupid inside jokes (one involved pumpkins wearing high heeled boots.  Don’t ask).  I’m pretty sure that those drawings are some of the few remaining things he kept from our relationship.

I’ve always known that I have wanted to work in a creative field, but I didn’t want to have to bank on my creativity (which is why being an author always scared the bejeezus out of me.  What if I wasn’t having an “inspired” day?), but to be able to create, if that makes any sense.

So for now, I am waiting impatiently for my pre-requisite courses to start in a month.  I am taking Drawing 101 and Studying 2 Dimensional Shapes.  I don’t really know what to expect with the latter, and with the former…I’ll be putting my money where my mouth is, so to speak.  And I’m nervous.

In the meantime, I have been trying to do more with my photography, occasionally making trips out for the sole purpose of taking pictures (like the Griffith Observatory and Venice Beach)

On Saturday, I did my first photo shoot with my friend Alexander.  He needed some shots for his modeling portfolio and some new headshots as well.  It was a new experience for me, as I’m usually more adept at shooting still items (found art and found objects in particular.), and dont have a ton of experience telling people how to pose.  But it was great practice, and I think they came out well.

2009 - July 257

2009 - July 229

2009 - July 262

2009 - July 322

2009 - July 267

2009 - July 341

The biggest problem I had was in dimly light places like, here, in the North Hollywood Metro station:

2009 - July 296

This is the only shot that came out even remotely well,and that was only after adjusting the levels afterwards.  With a flash, they came out looking too…cheap? (for lack of a better word).  The contrast was too sharp, they look like snapshots, not like photos.  And with the flash off, they were just too blurry.

I don’t know how much it has to do with how I am shooting, or needing to get some better lenses (right now I am solely shooting with the stock lens that came with the camera.), or hell, just learn more about photography.  I’m already using this as an opportunity to get more familiar w/Photoshop.  And I’ve lined up 3 more friends that I am going to take shots of in the coming weeks (or as time allows).  It’s nice to have a hobby.  Something besides work and school and “social life”.  I read constantly, but I never counted reading as hobby, more as something I just couldn’t live without.  This is a project.  Something to work on, and focus actual energies on.  Makes me feel like a more well rounded person.  Which is really the name of the game in Allison-land.

~ by Alli on Thursday, July 30, 2009.

2 Responses to “art-eeste”

  1. First off, I love those pics you took of Alexander. And 2nd…I think you’re a fabulous writer, and sometimes when I read your blog, I pause to think of how great it’s written. But lastly, I always knew you would do something in the creative world. Whether it be writing, drama, or drawing. You’re destined for it, and I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  2. I’m shooting my first wedding in a couple of weeks for an actual photographer’s wage and looking back at the work I’ve done, without any experience in a classroom setting or with a manual, I realize that you can teach yourself most everything in terms of photography. Photography is easy to excel at if you have an eye and lots and lots of practice– I would hold off on new lenses until you get really good with lighting, and some of the technical aspects of your camera.

    Also, Photoshop can do miracles but always aim to get the best possible photos with your raw pictures… the best photographers, while they use photoshop, have INCREDIBLE raw photos. This was a mistake I didn’t correct early enough.

    There are a couple tricks I could teach you too in Re: to photoshop which will make some of the photos look a little more pro. Using layers, masks and filters, etc… I’ve worked with PS for 7 years now, so let me know if you ever need help!! 🙂 Good work thus far. Love the headshot one!!

Leave a Reply

 
