tugga tugga tugga choo choo

I am super busy at work, and dont even really have time for this, but I feel like my head is going to explode, and I need some sort of outlet.

Work is crazy. School WILL be crazy. I am feeling

Lets try again, shall we? (Allison needs to learn how to breathe sometimes)

Over the past 2 months, I have had more and more responsibilities at work. Partly because of new management, and partly because my training period had come to an end, and it was around that time that I would be getting more stuff anyways.

Its been insane. Any of you that have spoken to me in the past couple months knows how stressed I have been, and how difficult the transition has been, answering to a new person who, while a very smart man, is not used to managing people so much as he is running a business as a whole. And finally, FINALLY, he and I have started working together well as a team, and I am just now able to start building a clear line of communication and organizational system for my job.

And then he goes “Ok, Allison, so I’m going to try and start the transition to have you be my personal executive assistant.(something I have already pretty much been, but now will be even MORE so) But you are still going to be office manager too”. There has been no talk of paying me more money.

I rarely, if ever, talk about work here. The other day, my mom expressed concern, stating “So I guess you aren’t liking your job anymore”. “Why do you say that?” “Oh, because you never talk about it anymore, and when you do, you just sound tired.”. I feel I should clarify…I really do, most days, love my job. I like the work I do, and the people I work with. I’m treated with respect and my input is appreciated. But it’s a job. It’s not my career. And that is the biggest reason I don’t talk about it on my blog (besides the fact that I don’t need everyone who reads this knowing where I work).

When I am here, I am passionate, busy, invested in the good of the company and the work I do. But when I clock out…I CLOCK OUT. They have been talking about putting me on salary for awhile now, and I refuse, because then I would NEVER LEAVE. As it is, I need to remind them constantly that I’m in school, and need to leave on time some days.

The first week of school is always rough. That first day, when you’re handed that syllabus, and you see just how much work is ahead of you…it always gets a little daunting (at least for me). I’ve been running around all weekend buying supplies drafting and drawing and art supplies, and worrying how I’ll be able to excel at all of it.

But I keep pushing.

~ by Alli on Monday, September 7, 2009.

One Response to “tugga tugga tugga choo choo”

  1. You can do it babe!

Leave a Reply

 
