Ah ah ah, it’s easy, ah ah ah, you only need to know

As I was walking through the main house tonight getting home from work, I heard strains of “If You Want to Sing Out, Sing Out” by Cat Stevens. Its in an iPhone commercial (or maybe it was an iTouch, I’m not sure). This resulted in a bonding moment between myself and my landlord, who was a self professed Cat Stevens “groupie” back in the day.

I love “Harold and Maude” (the movie that made the song so popular). My dad was always so great about exposing me to amazing things at a younger age than most parents would, and I think I really benefited from it, as well as it having a large hand in how my future “tastes” were developed (My favorite book “The World According to Garp”, I originally read after seeing the movie adaptation, and dad saying he “wasn’t sure I could follow it”. My love to prove people wrong runs deep 😉

This was one of the very first songs that I learned how to play on guitar when I was 14. While a lot of Cat Stevens music brings up a ton of nostalgia, this song in particular….well, it made me happy, thinking of my dad, and singing the same song over and over again, just because.

“If you want to live high, live high, and if you want to live low, live low.”

I should follow that advice 🙂

~ by Alli on Wednesday, September 9, 2009.

One Response to “Ah ah ah, it’s easy, ah ah ah, you only need to know”

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

 
