lovely little los angeles sunday

Since I’m unemployed and live alone, I get a wee bit stir crazy at times.  So much so that I’ve made it a point to get out of the house at least once a day, even if it’s just to grab a cup of tea or go to the store. Any excuse for me to put on some makeup, and wear something otheer than pajamas.

Sunday, however, I spent the majority of out of the house, and actually doing stuff that was fun (which is sorely needed since I’m currently in the throes of finals panic).

I’ve been hearing about the Fairfax Flea Market/ Melrose Trading Post for awhile now, so when Lainey suggested going there, I jumped at the chance.

It was overcast and cold and not that crowded, which was nice.  Since I’ve already bought/planned out all my Christmas presents, it was more a chance for me to look around and get a few ideas for art projects, and spend a much needed day with Lainey.

After that we went to tail end of the Hollywood Farmers Market, my favorite Sunday destination.  And I have a new crush

the super cute street band.  wind instruments?  and accordian?  suits?  I want them all to be my boyfriend.

Later that evening, I went to a free drive in screening of “A Muppet Christmas Carol” downtown, in an empty parking lot adjacent to the fashion district, where Frankenstand had $3 veggie hot dogs.  Muppets?  Michael Caine?  Drive In?  Hot dogs?  I’M IN.

Mitch is such a good friend, he brought a blanket for cold, a giant Newcastle, he listened to me geek out over muppet-ness, and let me eat this stinky and delicious monstrosity in his car.

One of the best parts of the evening however, was us quoting lines from the opening of Aqua Teen Hunger Force Movie:

Only to have it start playing a minute later:

All in all, it was one of those days where I really and truly appreciate living in this city, and equally appreciate the opportunities to experience and enjoy all the special little treats this city has to offer, if you know where to look. I’ll leave you with a little trinket I got at the flea market:

~ by Alli on Tuesday, December 8, 2009.

2 Responses to “lovely little los angeles sunday”

  1. Mmm, that hot dog looks delic-OH MY GOD WHAT HAPPENED TO YOUR THUMB!? *faints*

  2. I love you. Such a great day…

    I love that picture of you stuffing yourself with the veggie dog!

Leave a Reply

 
