things that make me happy right this moment

* Haley just finished “The World According To Garp” and LOVED it.  It made her cry.  And while I don’t normally take pleasure in making my friends weep, I feel this is a special exception.

She had a great point about it (and truthfully, I think that it sums up all of Irvings works pretty well), “It’s one of those books that, like, remind’s you why you love to read in the first place.”, and it’s true.  I love that book, and I love when my friends love it.  It’s the equivalent of your friends loving your new boyfriend.  It just makes me happy.

* I just can’t stop looking at this picture.

I don’t have a whole lot of recent pictures of just me and my Dad.  Usually they are of the whole family and very posed and, well, I’ve never been a huge fan of non candid shots anyways, personally.  But I had my Uncle take this last night for my dad’s birthday dinner (he’s turning 54, y’all.  He looks pretty good for his age, yeah?), and I just think it’s the greatest picture.  He and I have gone through some rough patches in the past year, but things are better with us than they have been in a long time.  And ultimately, he and I have a lot of fun together (I definitely get my odd sense of humor from him) , and this reflects that.  A printed copy is currently pinned up at my desk along with this shot of me and mom, making me feel blessed that I seem to have a pretty healthy relationship with both my folks at the same time right now, something that has been quite elusive over the years, and something I will never take for granted.

*It’s almost my birthday month!  Last year’s April was chock full of stuff, and was started off with me getting a new job and a new place to live (a place that I love and will live for awhile, or as long as they’ll have me).  This April has the Los Angeles Festival of Books again, and a gigantic birthday party partly thrown by Chris and Alexander, aka the best non-blood brother a gal could ever ask for, and his boyfriend who is someone equally dear to me.  Oh, and next Sunday for Easter, I MAY have agreed to dress up in a giant rabbit suit for Animal Acres’ Egg-less Easter event

(Honorable mention goes to Animal Acres, a wonderful organization I feel so blessed to be affiliated with.  Haley and I went there on Sunday for their Open House event as attendees, NOT as volunteers for once, and it’s such a warm feeling to go there, and have everyone know your name and be generally happy to see you, even on the days you AREN’T free labor…it definitely makes one feel like the work they do is appreciated.  And H and I both agreed afterwards that we have WAY more fun working anyways, haha.)

*Photography I’m getting a few jobs here and there, mostly un-paying, but I’m building up a pretty solid portfolio, so that, when the Art and Design website goes up in a month or two, I’ll have plenty of stuff to show.  I’m contemplating, in the interim, starting a photo blog just to keep people a bit more updated than my Flickr acct does.  But it’s such a great feeling to have friends coming up to me requesting that I take photos of them for assorted things.  It doesn’t pay, but it’s great getting admiration and respect from your friends, especially in a city that is over-saturated with creative endeavors.

* And this:

Well, this just keeps making me laugh.  Every single goddamn time.  I think it’s the tiny hands.

~ by Alli on Monday, March 29, 2010.

One Response to “things that make me happy right this moment”

  1. I am in love with that picture of you and your dad! Omg, like obsessed. I’m glad you two, and you and your mom for that matter, are doing so well right now. You deserve it, I love you.

Leave a Reply

 
