terrorized and flattened by trivialties

“We’re all going to die, all of us, what a circus! That alone should make us love each other but it doesn’t. We are terrorized and flattened by trivialities, we are eaten up by nothing.”

-Charles Bukowski

In other news, my midterm kicked my ass, 2 great job opportunities fell through at the last minute (neither due to any fault of my own, which is a (very small) ray of light in the whole situation, but still, it’s never fun to get your hopes up), and I’m still stressed, some not necessary, some not within my control, some simply having nothing to do with me, but taking on the problems of the people I love, not being able to help them, but just worrying.  Incessantly.  My entire body is so tense that I injured my neck in yoga yesterday doing a (somewhat) simple pose, and am in a fair amount of pain.

But my birthday party is tomorrow!  And I’m hoping that being surrounded by my friends, who are willing to don hats and mustaches and embrace their goofiness in order to celebrate my birthday, plus cupcakes and homemade Sangria and laughter…will do the trick.

Chances are if you read this and I know you personally, then you are someone I care about.  Whether that means you are one of my closest friends, a family member, or even an acquaintance that happens to find my silly little writing style somewhat interesting… I’m happy to have you around.  Part of growing up is realizing who you cherish, and who TRULY cherishes you in return.  And you end up sifting through the riff raff, and appreciating the genuine people that much more.  So, thank you.  And hell, if you’ve never met me before, and you follow this blog anyways, thank you guys too!  It’s nice to be heard.

~ by Alli on Friday, April 16, 2010.

One Response to “terrorized and flattened by trivialties”

  1. Sorry to hear about that midterm. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

 
