YouTube DJ-ing : February

I don’t remember much about February. I think I was frustrated with school, and my sleeping patterns were getting worse, staying up til 9 am every single day.

I think i was watching a lot of “How I Met Your Mother”. Or perhaps I was just having another Jason Segel obsession moment.

Or maybe I was just having a Neil Patrick obsession moment. Or Dr. Horrible obsession moment. Or maybe, just maybe…a Les Mis obsession moment?

February WAS the month that I started loving Florence + The Machine (one of those rare musical finds that wasn’t recommended to me by any of my far more musically savvy friends, but something I just stumbled across and fell in love with all by myself)

Posted February 4th with the caption: “Good morning. Punch someone you love today! ♥ ♥ ♥”

Now for some embarassing:
Posted February 18th with the caption: “Can someone please explain to me why THIS was stuck in my head when I woke up this morning? I probably haven’t even HEARD it in 6 years. It’s like my junior high years are coming back to haunt me.”

The comments underneath this post are too good to not be shared:

Alona
Oh! Millikan memories just flooded my mind. Ironically enough, I was listening to their Greatest Hits album while cleaning last week. Not mad about that tho, the Spice Girls were one of the few things that made 1996-1999 enjoyable.

Michael
You must’ve eaten something REALLY bad before bed.

Daniel
Lack of veggie spice

Philip
Maybe your subconscious really wants you to shake it to the left if you’re having a good time.

Johnny
How weird. Your life is spicy enough as it is, right? Pip pip and cheeri-o gav’nah!

Allison
I love that the majority of the comments on this video are from men.

Now, I DO remember that February was the month when I was just starting to get into some music with a slightly harder sound to it. Listening to my ipod, it just seemed like all of my music was soft, folky acoustic. And while I do still love that style of music, I felt like I needed some variation, plus share some of the stuff that I ALREADY had that was a little rougher.

Luckily, my friend Pascual came into my life. We had been buddies since late 2009, but when I started pulling all nighters pretty much every night, we would have hours long discussions on instant messenger, about life, relationships, friendships, coping, and music etc. Being a career musician pretty much his whole life and a well respected heavy metal singer and bassist (I TOLD you my friends are eclectic ;)) he has a wide range of tastes and an excellent ear, and oh yeah, LOVES recommending music to his friends, which is exactly what my nerdy ass needs. (he remains to be my one of my closest male confidantes to this day.)

One day he and I were discussing song covers we love and hate (I found great issue with the fact that The Pussycat Dolls did a cover of “Feelin’ Good”, of which Nina Simone’s version is one of my top 5 favorite songs of all time). So he schooled my ass, pointing out that “Tainted Love” was a cover, the original being this amazing song by Gloria Jones.

He also recommended this song when he was crafting “the perfect playlist” for me to download

The Pistolas aren’t together anymore. Yet another band that breaks up soon before I end up getting really into them, or soon after (examples: Bo Pepper, Harvey Danger, Be Your Own Pet, etc)

~ by Alli on Monday, July 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
