YouTube DJ-ing: January

Occasionally I like playing YouTube dj on Facebook, posting songs that pop into my head for any number of reasons. I thought I would share them and the stories behind them on here at the end of every month, partly because Id like to share them with people I’m not friends with on Facebook, and also because looking back, it reminds me of where i was at mentally and emotionally at that time.

But I figured I’d backtrack to the beginning of this year….

I posted this song on New Years Day. Stephen Falk posted it on his Tumblr, and the lyrics were pretty damn accurate in regards to where I was in January. 2009 left me with 2 car wrecks (both totals, the latter being my fault, and the former fracturing my right hand), unemployed, and the closest thing to a heartbreak I’d had in my singledom post-Jordan. I entered 2010 with fierce determination to make it a good year if it was the last fucking thing I did.


However, 2010 greeted me with 2 bouts of a bronchial infection so bad that I physically couldn’t speak (Not like it hurt to speak, but like I couldn’t get enough air into my lungs in order to get any words out.)

Bjork – It’s Oh So Quiet (If you want to see the amazing music video, click here The embedding capability was disabled)

Around this time my insomnia started getting pretty bad (when the all nighters became a twice/thrice weekly thing) and I spent that time drawing and watching old movies from my childhood.
“The Brave Little Toaster” is a dark, WEIRD little movie, which was apparently lost on me when I was a kid, because I was absolutely BLOWN AWAY by that fact when I rewatched it.

As i put it to a friend: “its not, like…perverse. It’s just..excessively dark and weird for a CHILDREN’S film. Like, a flower sees its reflection in the toaster and thinks its another flower and gets all excited and starts hugging it. The toaster gets scared and runs away, and immediately the flower WILTS AND DIES FROM SADNESS.”)
But you should all watch it immediately.

In the theme of movies from my childhood, I posted this as well (though didn’t get a chance to watch it, and really, I should do that in the next couple of weeks)

When I was little, my Dad and I could out of nowhere yell “PUDDING ON DA RIIIIIEETZ!” and laugh ourselves stupid.

This next song I just love. It’s been on repeat quite a bit on my iTunes at several points in the last year.

And finally, my all time favorite Joe Cocker song (and favorite cover of this song, of which there are many).

I just love the anguish, pain, desperation, angst in his voice when he sings about needing to see his baby.
I love the days of rock when it was full of unattractive men singing about how they wish they were getting some good lovin’.

~ by Alli on Monday, July 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
