Day 1 – Los Angeles to Peoria, AZ

Who has two thumbs, speaks limited French, and is driving cross country tomorrow? THIS moi!
Monday, August 30, 2010 6:02:25 PM from Twitter

I was up the night before packing and organizing all my remaining belongs that weren’t in storage. not sure exactly what time I went to bed, but I made sure that I got enough sleep before i left.

Woke up with the doggies jumping on the bed. It was a nice way to start what was bound to be a long day. I re-checked the car, got dressed and said goodbye to my mom (who was teary eyed at this point) and reassured her that I would be safe and smart on my journey. I started up the car, filled up my gas tank, and then drove onto the 210 E.

From the moment I pulled onto the on-ramp, and for the next couple hours afterwards…I could not stop smiling. It keep hitting me…”I’m actually doing this”. It was partly a rush…but mostly just feeling so pleased with myself, and excited about what lay ahead.

I stopped to see the Cabazon Dinosaurs (which are now apparently a giant Creationism museum) but it was still fun to wander around someplace far from home…a nice beginning to my very long trip.

After that I knew that after Palm Springs/Palm Desert, that it would be nothing but desert land for at least a couple hundred miles, and that I needed to get some food and gas to tide me over for what was bound to be a long and boring drive.  So I pulled over to Palm Desert where there happened to be a Costco gas station…AND a truly awesome health food store…

This place seriously kicks Whole Food’s ass. (@ Clark’s Nutrition & Natural Foods Market)
Tuesday, August 31, 2010 12:36:49 PM via foursquare

with every flavor of Coconut Bliss.

and enough supplies to get me through the entire rest of my trip (food wise).  I actually may have gotten a bit overzealous in my shopping.  Oops.

So I sat in my car underneath a shady tree and read a book for an hour while making myself some sandwiches in true road trip style: messily and on my legs while sitting in my car.

And then I proceeded to drive for several hours in endless desert…listening to my ipod and snacking on seaweed, sandwiches and Coconut Bliss.  Still running on the high that I was actually doing this and driving across the country.  At one point I drove through a particularly lovely bit of desert while listening to Muse’s cover of “Feeling Good” while eating some Pineapple Coconut flavored coconut ice cream…and i thought to myself “Life at this moment…is pretty nice”.

When I drove past the Arizona state border, I actually yelled “WOO HOO!” to no one in particular.  Not because I was in Arizona so much as because I had done something I had never done before: driven to another state (or for that matter, driven IN another state).

I was blown away by the beauty of Arizona sunsets.  So much so that twice I pulled my car over to the side of the road and just sat and took it all in.

Little did I know that I’d barely seen anything yet…. 😉

~ by Alli on Tuesday, September 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
