I hate to be that person…

but sometimes I just need to share how amazing my boyfriend is.

Another one of my close friends entered into a serious relationship a few months prior to me getting together with Billy.  And I know that she had a lot of people who were surprised and a bit wary of how much she raved about him, having not been that type of person in the past.  But I understood why even then.  Because after a string of “meh” boyfriends and dates over the last few years, being with someone who was so wonderful, and so genuinely invested in her happiness, was something she almost couldn’t quite believe.  Having that kind of luck (and lucky she is, as he is great to her and her family, and actually goes out of his way to do things for her, something she has not had very often) is something you feel like you need to scream from the rooftops.

I’ve been with Billy for 6 months.  We’ve lived together for 5, are different in many ways, come from different backgrounds, and have a 6 year age difference.  We had a rough patch at the “3 month hump”, and came out of it wiser and more in love than ever.   We’re both in it for the long haul, and he has no reason or need to woo me.  We are partners, we live together (at least for another 4 days until I move home to Los Angeles, where he will be following in the Spring), our flaws are out.  We don’t have much money, but he will often do things for me just “because {he} loves me”.  Buy me my favorite magazine when it comes on sale.  Be genuinely excited about surprising me with dinner, or a little treat.  He expects nothing in return.  He just sincerely enjoys doing things to make me smile.

Right now I’m sick with some sort of 48 hour flu-type bug.  I’m achy and have a 100 degree fever (4 days before I drive across country, of course).  I’ve done nothing today but take ibuprofen and apple juice, knitting a scarf while watching “Willy Wonka” and “Ghostbusters” (“Ray, when someone asks you if you’re a god, you say YES!).

He went to run an errand for his mom, and came back several hours later saying that he just “killed some time driving around” because he wanted to let me rest. He also came home with coconut milk ice cream (!!!!), and ingredients for Vegan Pizza Day (including some homemade vegan cheese sauce recipe that he is trying out as we speak, and refusing to tell me what it is).  He heard me mention Vegan Pizza Day in passing, and wanted to surprise me, because there wasnt anyplace close I could buy some, and because I was feeling shitty.  I didn’t ask for it, he just wanted to do it.  For me.  Because he loves me.  Did I mention Billy is a southern boy who is not vegan at all?

I know that no one else ever really cares about how great your relationship is, but I’m still so amazed every day that I have someone who is so good to me.  And sometimes you really do need to share it, even if it’s only for yourself.  And for the person to know just how much you appreciate them.

~ by Alli on Saturday, January 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
