Maybe the fortune cookie was right…

I got a new job! Because of security, for obvious reasons, I’m not going to share the specifics. But it’s a great job that I think I will do extremely well, with a wonderful, well known company that’s been a Los Angeles staple for years (I will henceforth be referring to my employer as “The Studio”, so it won’t show up in any search engines along with this blog). It’s paying me closer to what I used to make when I did office work, and it’s full time.

I will actually be making a living wage again. Thank god.

This is one of those opportunities that you hear about, with people starting at the “bottom” and working their way to different, better positions, working hard and making your own reputation as an intelligent, resourceful asset. I could see myself working for the Studio in some capacity for the next few years while I’m in school. Believe me when I say that the promise of that type of stability in my life, regardless of any potential advancement, is equally, if not more exciting than the new job itself. The last few years have been so rough, and even prior to that, I worked for such small companies with no room for growth, and rarely felt that I would be working there for a long time. This feels like a do-over.

My new job is not glamorous, but it’s a lot of fun. and I really think I’ll be great at it. Apparently they did too, because they hired me about 20 minutes after my interview with the manager of the department. I don’t care who you are, getting hired on the spot or on the same day of your interview is ALWAYS a great feeling.

It’s a shame i can’t share more. I’m gonna be learning some very interesting things. But I guess for now, all you need to know is:

I’m excited.

I’m optimistic.

and, thanks to this majorly helping our financial situation, Billy should be back in my arms by the end of July (if all goes to plan).

😀

~ by Alli on Sunday, June 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
