both go together if one falls down

I loved this song when I first heard it in 2009.  I thought it was beautiful and sad and sweet.

It wasn’t until I was leaving Mississippi back in early 2011 to go back to Los Angeles, leaving behind the man I loved, not entirely sure when he would be able to come out and follow me. (It took longer than either of us thought; I left in early February, and he wasn’t able to move out here until the end of August).

We have been together in L.A for almost a year now, and been in a relationship for almost 2.  A lot has changed in our relationship, we have faced a lot of hardships, and I’ve personally made some mis-steps that have affected us both.  We have fought,  he’s been homesick, and his first year on the west coast hasn’t been an easy one.

But he’s still here.  Whenever I express concerns about whether he still loves me as much as he used to, that’s what he reminds me of.  ”Allison, I could leave anytime I wanted and go back home.  I have a place to go, I would have a job waiting for me, there are even people who would send me money for gas.  If I didn’t still love you and think you were worth all of this, I’d be long gone.”
Actions do speak louder than words, and as I get older I’m realizing that I should be paying more attention to them.

But every time I hear this song, (which appropriately came on my iPod right as I was getting onto the interstate) I think about pulling away from that house in Long Beach, MS, dog hair still on my clothes from hugging our pup as hard as I could, and looking in my rearview mirror at the red-eyed, red-haired man standing in the driveway, crying myself, and marveling that someone could love me that much.

~ by Alli on Friday, June 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
